Monday, July 15, 2013

After Tuesday Review

Book Review
June 21, 2013
After Tuesday (These Days #1)
by: Renee Ericson
★★★★ 4 Stars

Blurb ~ Family really is a pain…especially when your father is an addict.

For the last two years, high school senior Ruby has been her own rock and solace. She has learned to depend only on herself and hides her family's issues by keeping herself somewhat unnoticeable. Despite her isolation, Ruby has intrigued the affections of someone unexpected. Finding herself loving life once again as his persistence sparks a romance awakening a well-protected heart.

While Ruby’s relationship with her father is constantly teetering, her new-found affection continues to blossom into something more than she ever thought possible. Soon, Ruby comes to realize that opening up your heart means being susceptible to love and disappointment.

*ARC provided by Author for honest review*

I really enjoyed After Tuesday. I read it in two sittings and could not look away. Best and easiest way to describe it as great. Tuesday AKA Ruby is a senior in highshcool, literally trying to make it to the end so she can escape the hell that is her home life. Ruby lives with an emotionally abusive or neglectful father who succumbed to his low point after her mom died. (In ways I was reminded of The Secret of Ella and Micha by Jessica Sorensen.) Ruby’s home life makes it extremely easy to instantly connect with her, especially considering how strong and brave she is being such a young girl and doing so much on her own. 

Tuesday actually got her name from her father but since his addictions come first Ruby has learned to worry about only herself because at the end of the day she is the only one she can count on. What Ruby does not expect is someone else to break into her shell especially when that someone else is a man or boy. Either way Brent is just what she needs. 

“I don’t think he ever realized that I checked out of our relationship. Then again, that was likely due to the fact that he checked out first. He might love me, but he certainly didn’t love himself.”-Ruby

Eventually Ruby can’t take anymore and gives her father an ultimatum. Since their relationship is hardly strong this does little to push them further away. Having a partying uncle next door does not help things but luckily she has a cousin who she learns she can count on.  I wanted to cry when she revealed how she sometimes sleeps in a tent in the backyard just to escape the drama or should I say drunkenness.
Through some meaningful talks and AA meetings her father begins to come around. But Ruby’s adventure is all about becoming her own person in spite of all the shit going on around her. (Excuse my French). Sometimes like in real life all the chips may seem out of orbit and every bad thing that can possibly happen does, but eventually good things have to start happening and in Ruby’s case, she won’t have it any other way. 

After Tuesday was a great YA novel touching on many sensitive but realistic topics. There is of course an epic romance that rocks Ruby’s world but gives her a solid reality to focus on when the world around her keeps spinning out of control. I loved Ruby and thought she was a great character. She learned to care for herself at a young age and has since become super independent and solely focused on escaping her reality. She counts down the end of her school year without even having any goals in mind except escape. I think this is a great read for fans of both YA and NA and I can’t wait to see what Renee Ericson has in store for us in the future. Considering this is book #1, I must admit I can’t wait.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...